On April 23, 1993, the John W. McCormack Institute of Public Affairs celebrated its tenth anniversary. To mark the occasion, the Institute established the John Joseph Moakley Award for Distinguished Public Service, which will be awarded annually to a man or woman whose contribution to the public good merits our most grateful acknowledgment. The first recipient of the award was Congressman John Joseph Moakley, Chairman of the House Rules Committee, one of the most powerful and influential positions in Congress.

Among those who paid tribute to Congressman Moakley were Michael E. Haynes, Minister, Twelfth Baptist Church, Boston; Raymond G. Torto, Director, John W. McCormack Institute of Public Affairs; Raymond L. Flynn, Mayor of Boston; Sherry H. Penney, Chancellor, University of Massachusetts Boston; Michael K. Hooker, President, University of Massachusetts; the Honorable David E. Bonior, Majority Whip, U.S. House of Representatives; the Honorable Thomas P. O'Neill, Jr., former Speaker, U.S. House of Representatives; the Honorable William M. Bulger, President, Massachusetts Senate; the Honorable Charles F. Flaherty, Speaker, Massachusetts House of Representatives; and Duncan Nelson, Poet Laureate and Professor of English, University of Massachusetts Boston.

In place of our usual Editor's Note, we reproduce here Professor Nelson's ode to the John W. McCormack Institute of Public Affairs because we want to share its sentiments with you our readers, who continue to make possible the publication of the New England Journal of Public Policy.

Included in

Public Policy Commons



To view the content in your browser, please download Adobe Reader or, alternately,
you may Download the file to your hard drive.

NOTE: The latest versions of Adobe Reader do not support viewing PDF files within Firefox on Mac OS and if you are using a modern (Intel) Mac, there is no official plugin for viewing PDF files within the browser window.